The Pumpkins are here!

Hi everyone!

I will be discussing pumpkin pie since it’s coming up to Thanksgiving…for it’s so close! I totally remember all of the Thanksgivings where my family bought those big Pumpkin pies from Costco. Absolutely love those ones! Costco has already started selling them so maybe we’ll get two of them. They’re only for $5:99 I do believe.  I love to put whipping cream on it and have icecream (check out this link if you haven’t read my post about icecream.

Here’s the question of this post:

The name pumpkin originated from the Greek word for “large melon”.

Instead of focusing on the history of the pumpkin, I will mainly talk about the fun facts. However, I will say a couple of things about the history. As you can imagine, the settlers in the New World (that would be America) learned how to make pumpkin pie from the Natives. The natives showed them the process of how to carve out the pumpkins and make the pie.

Some numbers that I found to be interesting!

Approx. $700 million in pies are sold in grocery stores every year.

You would think that Pumpkin Pie would be the most popular kind of pie in America…(that was your slight clue to say a Big No!!! *pause* Well, you would be correct. Apple Pie is the most popular pie in America.

In a recent survey, more than half of the percent of people surveyed said that they like to have Pumpkin Pie at breakfast. I personally wouldn’t mind having it all the time.

Here’s another interesting survey that was carried out. People were asked what they would want their friends to bring for dessert and pie got the nod over cake and cookies.

Pumpkin pie was not introduced to the pilgrims at their first Thanksgiving but at their second Thanksgiving in 1623.

I personally like this personality test that I took. The question was what kind of pie do you like the most?

Pumpkin Pie: Funny and independent

Apple pie: Independent, realistic and compassionate

Chocolate pie: Loving

Pecan Pie: Thoughtful and analytical

Like I always say, I would like interaction so what is your favorite pie and what do you think of this personality test?

Follows, comments, and likes are always accepted here.

Steve

Posted on November 16, 2014, in Everything Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Would I make you mad if I said that I hate pumpkins? :\

    Like

Leave a Reply

