One of the greatest foods ever!

Another food post is here!

As you can tell from my title, “One of the greatest foods ever,” this is going to be one of my favorite foods. I love middle-eastern food. Many people believe that Sarma originated from the country of Turkey but it didn’t. It started in Armenia. Basically, it’s grape leaves  stuffed with rice and meat. You could also add small bits of chopped onions. It’s mostly likely to have ground meat. However, sometimes people stuff the grape leaves with other meat or veggies.   Most people like to eat Sarma with yogurt as well.

Picture from www.acooknotmad.com

You can approximately make 50-60 stuffed grape leaves with:
1/2 lb ground meat  (option: different vegetables)
1/3 cup white rice
2 medium size onions, grated or chopped finely in a processor
1 tsp black pepper
salt
1/2 cup chopped parsley
1/2 cup dill
1 tbsp tomato paste
3 tbsp olive oil or 1,5 tbsp olive oil + 2 tbsp butter
juice of 1/2 lemon

I personally like to eat my Sarma the second day. I know you might think I’m weird but it still tastes fresh. The problem is that I eat too much the first day.

I remember as a kid when I was first introduced to Sarma, I ate like 30 of those when I was 5 years-old or so. Anyway, I love it and I think you should check it out. There’s a lot of recipes out on the internet that you can check out. Oh, my goodness! My mouth is watering at the thought of having these again! *Yelling at my mom* WHEN CAN I HAVE SARMA AGAIN! I must’ve said it nicely because she said soon. 😛

Please tell me what you think of this dish!

Please comment, like, and follow!

Steve

 

Posted on November 18, 2014, in Everything Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hey friend!!!
    Great post however I think you may have spelled your title wrong … It currently says “One of the great foods ever” and in your post it says “Greatest”!
    Keep up the posts! Sarma is amazing!!! I make home made ones from time to time! Middle Eastern food has to be one of my favs!!!
    -Jasmine

    Like

  2. 100% agree, it’s great!

    Like

  3. You have made the dish sound incredibly tempting. I’m gonna try making it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

