Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is just a few days away!

First of all, not all of you may know why we Americans celebrate Thanksgiving. The most familiar story of the first Thanksgiving took place in Plymouth colony where the pilgrims thanked God for blessing them. No, kids didn’t get off from school back then (it was much tougher times back then) until President Abraham Lincoln (I knew I liked him for more than one reason) declared the final Thursday in November as a national day of thanksgiving. However, Congress was slow on the job since they waited to make Thanksgiving Day an official nation holiday in 1941.

Fun Facts: The AAA Travel projects 46.3 million Americans will journey 50 miles or more from home during the Thanksgiving weekend. This would be the highest volume for the hoiday. That isn’t me. Stay at home!

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Minnesota is the top turkey-producing state in America.

The National Turkey Federation…whoa, wait, and what? There is such a thing as a National Turkey Federation??? Anyway, they estimated that 46 million turkeys are eaten at Thanksgiving.

According to the Guinness Book of World Records, the largest pumpkin pie ever baked weighed was 2,020 and measured just over 12 feet long.

Picture from http://www.pumpkinnook.com.

My Thanksgiving: 

Enough of the facts for now. What are my Thanksgivings like, you ask? Hmm… they are what I like to call relaxing. I get to sleep in and have a marvelous breakfast that my mom cooks. We usually have eggs, bacon or sausage, hash browns, and cinnamon rolls. All of those foods I am greatly thankful for.

I also watch plenty of football. The big game this Thanksgiving is the Seattle Seahawks and the San Francisco 49ers. Get the popcorn out!

We usually get together with family and watch some movie or show. We also seem to watch videos of comedians on Youtube.

The weird thing is that for every Thanksgiving, I feel pumped up for eating lots of pumpkin pie and turkey but I never do. It’s like my stomach says “no”, you can’t eat more. This is not a great feeling but I listen to it or there might be problems.

What I am thankful for:

I’m thankful for a lot of things.

1. For having a pretty sane family. That is extremely important to me.

2. For not being forced to eat foods that I don’t like. Actually, one of my older adult friends hates pumpkin pie. He says that his version of Hell would be if he had to eat pumpkin pie every moment. He also said that about coffee. I would love to see the expression on your faces. You’re like, “WHAT KIND OF FRIENDS DOES HE HAVE!” That’s a good question. Notice I didn’t say that I have sane friends.  Well, I guess most of them are sane.

3. Thankful that others have a gift for making music so I don’t have to.

4. For the good entertainment that Hollywood hasn’t ruined.

What are your thankful for? If you don’t celebrate Thanksgiving, what holiday is the closest? What is your favorite memory and food to have on Thanksgiving?

Steve

Posted on November 24, 2014, in My Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Steve –

    After reading your comments regarding my thoughts about Thanksgiving, I was eager to hear about yours! Being a Redskin fan (rough life), we all love to watch football on Thanksgiving too. It was great to see Dallas lose. Give your friend the benefit of the doubt, pumpkin pie isn’t too great…apple is where it’s at. So glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Keep up the blogging!

    Wishing you all the best,
    Erin

    Like

Leave a Reply

