Wonton Soup

How’s everyone’s Thanksgiving so far? I’m just waiting for the turkey to get ready so I thought I might as well write a new post.

No, I’m not having wonton soup for Thanksgiving. My mom bought it from Costco yesterday and I got to say that it was better than I thought. You might think that I spelled it wrong but there’s 3 ways to spell. This is a type of dumpling that is found in a number of Chinese cuisines.

Ingredients:

The ingredients consist of dough: flour, eggs, water, and salt. It’s fillings are comprised of ground pork, spices, garlic or green onions. Honesty, I think you could fill it with anything you want. In my soup, my mom put chopped carrots, onions, paisley, and some other things. I’ve seen some wonton soups that have shrimp as well.

Wonton 1.JPG

Picture from Wiki

You can always put noddles in the soup as well. You can either put the wontons in a soup, eat pit by itself, or fry it. When I saw the sodium of what a cup of wonton soup has, my heart stopped for a long time from the shock of the number.  So if you’re trying to stay away from sodium, then this is probably not the best dish to try.

How do you make a wonton!

This is from Wiki, which you can’t always trust but how can someone be wrong with this!

“Wontons are made by spreading a square wrapper (a dough skin made of flour, egg, water, and salt) flat in the palm of one’s hand, placing a small amount of filling in the center, and sealing the wonton into the desired shape by compressing the wrapper’s edges together with the fingers. Adhesion may be improved by moistening the wrapper’s inner edges, typically by dipping a fingertip into water and running it across the dry dough to dissolve the extra flour. As part of the sealing process, air is pressed out of the interior to avoid rupturing the wonton from internal pressure when cooked.”

A great recipe site to look at is All Recipes.com and someone has a recipe that is highly rated so check it out! http://allrecipes.com/recipe/wonton-soup/

Do you like Wonton soup?

Steve

 

Posted on November 27, 2014, in Everything Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Chinese Cuisine. XD 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

