Favorite Christmas movies!

Continuing the trend of my Christmas posts!

This year, I’ve been watching a bunch of Christmas movies with my family. We already watched Charlie Brown Christmas, It’s a Wonderful Life, and How the Grinch Stole Christmas. I plan on watching White Christmas and The Santa Claus. I actually don’t know why every year for the “25 Days of Christmas”, ABC shows Harry Potter. I mean, I love Harry Potter and I get that a lot of Harry Potter’s story happens around Christmas (don’t you just love the sweaters that Ron’s mom gave them) but still…doesn’t seem like the perfect movie to watch.

Here are my favorite Christmas movies.

6. Nightmare Before Christmas

Honestly, Tim Burton comes out with some of the weirdest, creepiest, or most unique movies ever. However, I actually liked this movie quite a bit.  The story was interesting enough and it was actually kind of fun.

5. It’s a Wonderful Life.

I actually just saw it last night and it’s got some of the greatest actors and actresses in the movie. Great story even though I could’ve predicted what exactly was going to happen but it was still good. Loved the message of the movie!

4. A Christmas Carol

This is an animated movie that came out in 2009 with Jim Carrey. I love this one! I actually saw a play of this and it was fun to watch. Great story and good message!

3. How the Grinch Stole Christmas

Again, great message! Have you noticed that ABC keeps cutting away the story – Hate that. So yeah, we need more commercials and less of the story. The ABC’s editors have smaller hearts than the Grinch for doing that to me.

2. Charlie Brown Christmas.

Once again, it tells the true story of why we have Christmas. Great songs and the story is fun! Snoopy always steals the show with his impressions of the various animals and of Lucy.

1. Elf

This is the most funny Christmas movie. As you can see, I always will take comedy movies above any other genres. Action with comedy is even better! Anyway, I plan on watching this again when all the family gets together. Definitely a must-watch Christmas movie.

What Christmas movies do you like the most?

Happy Holidays!

Steve

 

Posted on December 13, 2014, in Movie and tv reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Your list is all good! You know, “Wonderful Life” is the same story as “Christmas Carol”, with the variation of Bob Cratchit (Stewart) being the one visited by a spirit and taken to a past, present and future as if he had not been born. Just like Scrooge, he is transformed with a new appreciation of life.

    My favorite animated special is Mister Magoo’s Christmas Carol, which is full of genuinely good songs. My favorite of the old, classic movies (besides your list) is “The Bishop’s Wife” from 1948, and the original version of “Miracle on 34th Street” with Natalie Wood and Maureen O’Hara.

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting!

      I’m sorry if you misunderstood the movie that I was discussing. I was discussing “It’s a Wonderful Life,” which came out in 1946. Here’s a link to the movie summary on IMDb if you are still confused. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0038650/. It’s a classic!

      I haven’t seen “The Bishop’s Wife but I do love the “Miracle on 34th Street”

      Like

      • I understood. I was pointing out that the 1946 film is an intentional re-write of the plot of Dickens’ Christmas Carol. George Bailey IS Bob Cratchit, his antagonist Mr. Potter IS Scrooge, and Clarence the angel is all 3 ghosts. George has a long-suffering wife, and Zuzu, his youngest is sick (though not crippled – close enough). George’s crisis of depression equals what Scrooge goes through (because of a magical journey) to discover (or rediscover) the true values in life, and both stories conclude on Christmas with a celebration. Harry Bailey’s toast to George, “the richest man in town” is the stand-in phrase for Tiny Tim’s “God bless us, everyone!” Get it?

        Like

      • Okay, now I get what you mean! Yes, there are a lot of similarities with the two movies! Thanks for pointing that out! That just goes to show that writers aren’t that original in their writing because they use ideas from past movies!

        Like

  2. Isn’t it pathetic that I haven’t seen Nightmare Before Christmas and A Wonderful Life? I get scolded by all my friends! Great post! I love Charlie Brown. My favorite is the class Rudolph!

    Like

  3. I LOVE “It’s A Wonderful Life” … such a classic (and we used to watch as kids growing up). “Charlie Brown” … and “Home Alone” would be on my list too… as well as “While You Were Sleeping” and “The Holiday.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

